Welcome visitor you can log in or create an account

2017 U.S. Open Women's Polo Championship™ Tournament Final



The 2017 U.S. Open Women's Polo Championship™ Tournament Final

After a week of great competition, it all came down to the final game on Sunday for the coveted U.S. Open Women's Polo Championship™.  Sunday's final was a repeat between the 2016 winner Lockton/Rocking P and runner up San Saba. 


As the spectators flowed through the entry gates to the Houston Polo Club, the teams paraded in behind the Land Rovers and lined up for a beautifully sung National Anthem by guest singer, Myoa.  After the players were introduced, Niki Brandon of Ker & Downey had the honors of the first bowl in to the teams to kick off the finals of the U.S. Open Women's Polo Championship™!Lockton/Rocking P's Hazel Jackson was the first player to find the goal with a back shot. San Saba's Lia Salvo and Hope Arellano responded with a goal a piece to take the lead briefly in the first chukker, but Lockton/Rocking P's Kristy Outhier tied up the score 2 to 2 as the horn blew ending the first chukker.At the start of the second chukker, Jackson converted a beautiful penalty 4  over her opponents heads' to take the lead. However, San Saba's Dawn Jones and Sarah Wiseman both had goal a piece to take back the lead for San Saba 4 to 3 as the teams broke for half time.During halftime, spectators combed the field, stomping divots, enjoying complimentary champagne, and soaking in the amazing Fall weather.


Kristy Outhier taking the lead

Soon enough it was time for the teams to start their second half of play, the audience made their way back to their seats, and the umpires lined up the players to begin the chukker.The teams played evenly in the third chukker, as Outhier and Salvo both converted penatly 3s for their teams, as San Saba maintained a 5 to 4 lead. In the last chukker of regulation play, Jackson tied the game and San Saba's Arellano barely missed a winning shot on goal in the last thirty seconds to send the finals in to overtime.  After a short break, the teams regrouped and came out on the field for sudden death overtime. Jackson was the first to take control, moving the ball down the field for her team, narrowly missing a shot on goal. Now it was San Saba's knock in and they had speed on their side. The team quickly advanced the ball down the field, but after a break in play Jones managed to recover the ball with a back shot which was picked up by teammate Hope Arellano who finished the game with the winning goal of the U.S. Open Women's Polo Championship™!


Hope Arellano running to the goal



Winning Team: San Saba

 Hope Arellano, Dawn Jones, Lia Salvo, Sarah Wiseman.Pictured with USPA CEO Bob Puetz, Niki Brandon with Ker & Downey, Jason Lacher with Land Rover Houston, and USPA Governor at Large and HPC Delegate Steven Armour 


Lia Salvo pictured with Texas Polo's Vinnie Meyer



 Picasita, played by Lia Salvoowned by Dawn Jonespictured with Gustavo DeCillo from DeCillo Equine Clinic and groom Hermenegildo Zepeda Dolores


BPP Amateur

Chispita, owned and played by Dawn Jonespictured with Nene Soumare from David Yurman and groom Luis Cartagena






Reata, owned and played by Kristy Outhierpictured with first Vice President of the AQHA Dr. Jim Heird and Reata's groom


Winners Cirlce

2017 US Open Women's Handicap

Winners: Texas MonthlyBridget Price, Grace Mudra, Lia Salvo, Carolyn Stimmel. Pictured with Dress for Success Board Member Clare Sullivan, USPA CEO Bob Puetz, Niki Brandon of Ker & Downey, USPA Governor at Large and HPC Delegate Steven Armour, and Dress for Success representative Christina ForgettaMVP: Lia Salvo pictured with USPA CEO Bob Puetz, Niki Brandon of Ker & Downey, and USPA Governor at Large and HPC Delegate Steven ArmourBPP Professional: Dooley, played by Lia Salvo, owned by Billy Mudra, pictured with Shannon Galvin from Galvin Insurance and American National, Salvo's niece Sofi, Grace and Billy MudraBPP Amateur: Patito Feo, owned and played by Meghan Gracida. Pictured with Morgan Strawser and Josh Green from Nothing Bundt Cakes, and Rel Mazur

BPP AQHA: Mike, owned and played by Sheila Lequerica, pictured with daughter Lily, and presented by Kristy Outhier



2017 Farish Cup Invitational

Winners: Veuve Clicquot/Moet ChandonGrace Parker, Danya Bogart, Julia Florey, Lara Straussfeld. Pictured with HPC Executive Director Mark Prinsloo and USPA Governor at Large and HPC Delegate Steven ArmourMVP: Debbie Shelton, pictured with HPC's Executive Director Mark Prinsloo and USPA Club Delegate Steven ArmourBPP: Esmeralda, owned and played by Anne Andras, pictured with Clare, Clint, and Danya Bogart, and groom Umberto



2017 Bayou City Cup


Winners: Ruth's ChrisLauren Levicki-Courville, Ali King, Holly Vu, pictured with Ker & Downey's Niki Brandon. (not pictured: Erica Gandomcar-Sachs)


BPP: Cappuccino, played by Ali King, owned by Liz Lary, pictured with groom Jose and Turf Specialties President and CEO Tommy St Romain


MVP: Shelley Daly, pictured with Ker & Downey's Niki Brandon


2017 WCT Junior Invitational


Winners: David YurmanCaroline Lile, Abby Benton, Isabel Artzer, Joanie Jackson. Pictured with Land Rover Houston's Jason Lacher, Ker & Downey's Niki Brandon, and Nene Soumare from David Yurman


MVP: Lily Lequerica, pictured with Niki Brandon from Ker & Downey and Jason Lacher from Land Rover Houston


BPP: Superman, played by Dani Price, owned by Lily Lequerica. Pictured with Jason Lacher from Land Rover Houston, and Niki Brandon from Ker & Downey






Copyright © 2017 Houston Polo Club, All rights reserved.Thank you for being a member or guest of the Houston Polo Club.Our mailing address is:
Houston Polo Club
8552 Memorial Dr
Houston, TX 77024
Add us to your address book
Want to change how you receive these emails?You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.