Welcome visitor you can log in or create an account

129°AB. ARG. HSBC - Date 7 - P2


11-19-2022 PALERMO OPEN



On Saturday 11/19, on field 1 of Palermo, the seventh date (fourth in Zone A) of the 129th HSBC Argentine Polo Open closed, the teams of La Natividad , defending champion of the contest that did not include the South African Ignatius du Plessis, injured, replaced by Alfredo Cappella Barabucci, and La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus , which did not have Jerónimo del Carril, suspended, supplanted by Matías Torres Zavaleta. The victory –and the Motorola Cup that was at stake– corresponded to the team of the Castagnola brothers by 19 to 12, which in this way not only eliminated their rival from the tournament, but was able to define the first finalist of the contest against The Irenita Grand Champions, in a wonderful undefeated duel that will take place on Friday 11/25.




It was a great polo match between two teams that sought victory from the initial throw-in. Until the end of the sixth chukka, they went stick by stick, with Jeta Castagnola and Sapo Caset as the banner, until the Verdiblanco team adjusted their marks, going 8-1 in the last two sets to achieve their third win in the same number of presentations.


In this way, the La Ensenada team says goodbye to the tournament, while La Natividad prepares to define the group with Pablo Mac Donough's team.






The teams and progression:




La Natividad: Camilo Castagnola 10 (14 goals, nine from penalties and one from a corner), Pablo Pieres 10 (5), Bartolomé Castagnola (h) 10 and Alfredo Cappella Barabucci 8. Total: 38.


La Ensenada RS Murus Sanctus: Matías Torres Zavaleta 8, Alfredo Bigatti 9 (5) (Received a yellow card in the fifth chukker), Guillermo Caset (h) 9 (6, four penalties) and Facundo Sola 8 (1) Total: 3. 4.




The Nativity: 3-2, 3-2, 4-4, 6-7, 9-9, 11-11, 15-11 and 19-12.




Judges: Gastón Lucero and Guillermo Villanueva (h).            Referee: José I. Araya.






Meanwhile, on Sunday 20, in Zone B they will do so at 1:30 p.m. on field 2, La Dolfina Saudi (again with the Brazilian Pedro Zacharías instead of the Uruguayan Pelón Stirling) vs. La Irenita Clinova, for the Cooperative Cup of the Military Hospital; and at 4:00 p.m., for the La Martina Cup they will do it, in a semi-classical, Ellerstina Turismo Felgueres vs. Breed La Dolfina.






Get your tickets at https://www.ticketek.com.ar/triple-corona-2022/campo-argentino-de-polo






All matches are broadcast live on Star+ (Argentina and Latin America) and via streaming on https://live.aapolo.com/ Subscribe!






The formations of Sunday 11/20 – Zone B:




13.30 – Court 2 – Cooperator of the Military Hospital




La Dolfina Saudi: Adolfo Cambiaso (m) 10, Pedro Zacharias 7, Adolfo Cambiaso (n) 9 and Juan M. Nero 10. Total: 36.


La Irenita Clinova: Facundo Fernández Llorente 8, Tomás Fernández Llorente (m) 8, Bautista Bayugar 8 and Isidro Strada 8. Total: 32.




Judges: Guillermo Villanueva (h) and Gonzalo López Vargas.           Referee: Martin Aguerre.






16.00 – Field 1 – La Martina Cup




Ellerstina Turismo Felgueres: Facundo Pieres 10, Hilario Ulloa 9, Gonzalo Pieres (m) 9 and Nicolás Pieres 10. Total: 38.


La Dolfina breeding: Guillermo Terrera (f) 9, Tomás Panelo 8, Diego Cavanagh 8 and Alejo Taranco 8. Total: 33.




Judges: Martín Pascual and Gastón Lucero.                                        Referee: José I. Araya.






The formations that remain free:






La Hache Perpool: Juan Ruiz Guiñazú (m) 8, Carlos M. Ulloa 6, Santiago Cernadas 7 and Joaquín Pittaluga 7. Total: 28.






La Esquina: Pascual Sáinz de Vicuña 6, Cristian Laprida (m) 8, Lucas James 7 and Ignacio Laprida 8. Total: 29.







They are sponsors of the 129th Argentine Polo Open HSBC, HSBC as Title Sponsor; Volkswagen as Gold Sponsor; ESPN, Imperial, Motorola, Johnnie Walker, Trapiche, La Nación and Omint as Official Sponsors; La Martina, CentraLab, Case IH, Río Uruguay Seguros and US Polo Assn. as Sponsors; and Casablanca, Termas de Río Hondo and Argentine Beef as Advertisers; while WE ARE SPORTS is the exclusive commercial agent.